Ocean Observing Science Committee Report to UNOLS Council

Dec 2015

Summary

- OOSC continues to provide the user community perspective to NSF and COL (Consortium for Ocean Leadership) and OOI IO (Implementing Organizations)
- OOSC members were alpha 1, alpha 2 and beta testers of UI and Education portal.
- OOSC Chair coordinates with the OOI Project Oversight Scientists thru weekly telecoms
- OOSC with a user community steering committee has planned a Jan 2016 Coastal Observatory Workshop
- As OOI goes into routine operations and maintenance mode OOSC's role will change

The members of OOSC are part of a very small group of people outside the funding of OOI that have a modest understanding of OOI's history and changes through the construction phase. With transition to operational phase in early December our role will change in ways to be determined.

OOSC continues to engage the players in the Ocean Observatory Initiative (OOI) through interaction with Jean McGovern, Bob Houtman, Lisa Clough, and Rick Murray at NSF, and Mike Kelley at the OOI office in COL. Additionally the OOSC Chair interacts with the newly formed Science Oversight Committee (SOC) that is composed of lead scientist at the Operating Institutions (they are paid by OOI). OOSC Chair is on weekly calls with the SOC where the main discussion is how to reach the transition to O&M on time.

Activities

To add the OOI team with user prespective, OOSC members were alpha 1, alpha 2 and beta testers of UI and Education portal in the early summer through fall. These tests have turned up significant problems with the UI. OOSC members logged problems with the UI and provided suggestions for improvements, particularly with the QA/QC and data visualization.

A main activity since May has been planning a Coastal Observatory Workshop in January 5-7 2016 at NSF. The goal of the workshop is to:

".. provide a forum for researchers to further their understanding of the capabilities of coastal observatory component (Pioneer and Endurance) of OOI and to learn optimal approaches for accessing the data."

A steering committee was formed to help organize and provide input from users. Members are: Robinson Fulweiler (Boston University), Evelyn Lessard (U. Washington) Chris Edward (UCSC), Kristen Davis (UCI), Glen Gawarkiewicz (WHOI).

The workshop will:

- Introduce the community to the OOI Coastal Observatory and CI: Data products, user interfaces, and system features/capabilities. Participants will be asked to familiarize themselves with OOI prior to the workshop by joining in OOI Webinars and visiting informational web sites.
- Review the broad science themes and new questions that OOI as deployed can address.
- Provide participants with access to OOI coastal observatory data to explore the OOI network and discuss questions with the OOI project team.
- Provide a forum that will promote science collaborations and identify strategies for engaging future users of OOI
- Provide a forum for community input on evolving role of how the research community has input
 to the OOI including role of Ocean Observing Science Committee and other scientific steering
 committees.
- Provide clear procedures for proposal submission including technical and engineering inputs
- Provide opportunity for workshop participants to hear NSF present and answer questions on the OOI

Applications are now closed and we expect about 60 users plus NSF and OOSC participants. Some users report that they have already submitted proposals to NSF to use OOI data.

The future

In the coming months OOSC will work with NSF, OOI, UNOLS and the oceanographic community to establish how OOSC can address the needs of the OOI research community as OOI goes into routine use.

The workshops will facilitate researchers learning how to access the data and how the data is quality controlled and calibrated. They will also provide guidance on how user communities can be represented in the future.

OOSC members look forward to facilitating the first user workshop in a month.

Members of OOSC

Larry Atkinson (ODU) – Chair Emmanuel Boss (Maine) Suzanne Carbotte (LDEO) Steve DiMarco (TAMU) Mary Jo Richardson (TAMU) Raphael Kudela (UCSC) Ruoying He (NCSU)